2021 SAEA Virtual Convening

 

 

 

Refusing “Back-to-Normal”                                    Centering Land, Justice, and Action in Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems Education

Join us on July 23, 2021 2-5 PM EST for a virtual convening

[1-4 PM Central/ 12-3 PM Mountain/ 11 AM–2 PM Pacific]

Presented by the National and Ohio Sustainable Agriculture Education Associations as part of SAEA’s effort to establish an online off-cycle meeting tradition for members and newcomers to connect and reconnect.  

Context

As parts of the world emerge from the global pandemic amid the heightened confluence of economic uncertainty, severe heat waves, racial inequities, and the ongoing colonialism that produces these violences, the call to “get back to normal” is stronger than ever. But what if our pre-pandemic “normal” is at the root of the global patterns of harm that we are experiencing today? We are excited and honoured to welcome Chief Ninawa Huni Kui as keynote speaker and Dr. Vanessa Andreotti as discussant on the intersections of Indigenous and decolonial perspectives on centering land, justice, and action, and implications for instructors and practitioners in sustainable agriculture and food systems education programs in post-secondary institutions in North America. Their collective teachings will provide a valuable opportunity to expand frames of reference for what is possible in sustainable agriculture and food system education classrooms and programs as we transition out of the pandemic and work towards refusing “normal”.

Convening Schedule                  

2:00       Welcome                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    2:20       Keynote Roundtable with Chief Ninawa Inu Huni Kui                      & Vanessa Andreotti                                                                                                                                                                                                                   3:35       Open Space Sessions                                                                                                                                                                                                            4:40       Ohio 2022 Conference Preview   & Wrap Up                                                                                                                                                                5:00      *BONUS* Virtual Happy Hour